News and Updates

Metro Manila reverts to the less restrictive general community quarantine (GCQ) from Aug. 19 to 31 after a two- week reimposition of strict coronavirus lockdown. 

In a speech aired Monday night, President Rodrigo Duterte said Metro Manila, as well as the provinces of Laguna, Cavite, Rizal and Bulacan will be placed under GCQ. 

Other areas placed under GCQ are Nueva Ecija, Batangas, Quezon in Luzon;Iloilo City, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Talisay City, the municipalities of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu province in Visayas. 

Meanwhile, the rest of the Philippines are placed under the most lenient modified general community quarantine or MGCQ. 

Metro Manila has been under GCQ since July but was placed back under MECQ amid the continuous surge in coronavirus infections.


This news brief is originally posted in Inquirer.Net, you may view the full story at


Related Stories: